One Day: My Review

I am on vacation and  just finished One Day by David Nicholls. It was the perfect book to read by the pool. The plot is unique. Where will you be a year from now? And two years from now? One Day opens with two recent college graduates who randomly meet at a party on July 15, 1988. Each chapter meets our characters, Emma and Dex, on July 15 of the following year- from 1988 to 2006. I loved the concept and could not put it down. In fact, I finished it in six or seven hours, I think. But, I did not love the characters. They were well developed but I did not really want to spend any more time with them. Overall, I think it’s a novel concept and a good read but will probably not make my list of favorites for the year.

3 thoughts on “One Day: My Review

  1. Nice to hear your opinion on this book Jane, I was indecisive about reading it myself. I have so many to get through though. Which is your favourite fiction book?

    • I can say it’s not a difficult read- read it in a few days at the beach. Love your site! I love Persuasion and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. In terms of more modern books, I really liked Little Bee and just finished Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver. It’s hard to name a favorite but those are at least a few.

  2. Thanks for your reply. I just finished The Guardian by Nicholas Sparks and reviewed it, hmm I wouldn’t really stick it in my favourites 😉

    I’m onto either the Larsson Trilogy next, or Eat, Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.
    Have a good weekend 🙂
    Socialpaws

Leave a Reply

