Exit Through the Gift Shop

It’s been a busy month here at our house- getting the house put together (we only have two empty rooms now!), throwing a Christmas party for 25 (not sure why we thought it was a good idea to do that 1 month after moving in, traveling to Virginia to see my family and my in-laws, adjusting to life in a city that is not cold in December, etc. All that to say, I apologize for being absent from the blogging world. Dear reader (all three of you), please forgive me.

One of the things we have done recently is watch documentaries. Netflix Streaming has some great ones but the one we watched yesterday was amazing. Exit Through the Gift Shop is the first film by the street artist Banksy. I have admired his work for a long time- he has a way of using ugly things (broken walls, windows, dirty streets) and making them beautiful. I don’t want to give away too much of the movie but I learned so much about street art. It’s inspired me to break out some stencils and make some art of my own. Probably not street art though since I like to go to bed early. But, the movie is about a man named Thierry Guetta who sets out to make a documentary about street art- including Banksy- but instead they switch places and Banksy winds up making a documentary about Guetta’s art. And here’s the best part- no one knows if it is real or a hoax. It’s fascinating, hilarious and will brighten your day.

2 thoughts on “Exit Through the Gift Shop

  1. I once went to an exhibit about street art when I was in London and about threw a fit because they didn’t include Banksy. He’s one of my favorites too, but I didn’t know about the documentary, so thanks for calling attention to that. I moved to Vienna not long ago, and my friend has found a few traces of Banksy here:

    http://streetfiles.org/photos/detail/34128/

Leave a Reply

