New Year’s Resolutions

ImageI don’t usually make New Years Resolutions but moving and starting over have made me want to try to make and keep three. The first I’ve shared here- I want to write more so I amtrying to keep myself to posting every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I may barely make it on some days but I want to write more regularly this year. And you will have the “joy”of reading about our lives a little bit more often. I promise to keep them short and funny, if at all possible.

The second is a goal I’ve casually had the in the past and may have accomplished last year but can’t be sure- I want to read 100 books this year. I will count any books I read- fiction, non-fiction, trade fiction, mysteries, winners of the Man Booker Award or cheesy airport reads. Just any 100 books. I will not, however, count children’s books. I may never read 100 of those since Forest likes the same 4: Goodnight Moon, Bible Stories, Where is Spot? and But Not the Hippopotamus.

And the third is hard to measure but easy to do. I want to cook more. With the amazing, fresh ingredients that are now local to us (hello France!) I want to try more recipes and cook more. My friend Melanie, who lived in Geneva for a year, learned to cook and bake some amazing things. I want to do the same.

So there they are. I’m currently up to date on the writing, am reading Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and ate Thai food from the place around the corner tonight. Two out of three isn’t bad.

Leave a Reply

