New Years Resolutions and Chicken Soup

What’s the old adage- if you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans? Well, I like to change it to say if you want to make your New Years resolutions fall apart, tell other people your plans preferably in a public forum. Case in point: my new years resolutions. I shared them in a recent post and since then have begun to fail at them. My three resolutions were to 1. write more 2. cook more and 3. read 100 books this year. Obviously I have not been writing as much. I have read four books so far but am working on another three. The one I have semi-succeeded with is cooking more. I have made chili twice, a roast twice, chicken caesar salad (sort of- hard to do without anchovy paste. They sell salmon and tuna and beef paste but no anchovy), chicken pesto pasta, spaghetti and meatballs and chicken noodle soup. All from scratch (except the pasta- you can get pasta here).

Josh was sick earlier this week prompting me to make chicken noodle soup. I used Tyler Florence’s recipe on FoodNetwork.com. The recipe was simple to follow but took some time. I can’t find chicken broth here so I was forced to make my own. I was thankful the recipe included the fairly easy process for making the broth. In fact, it was so simple I can explain it here.

Step 1: Chop up two carrots, two celery ribs, one turnip, half a head of garlic and one onion. I think this is a turnip on top but can’t be sure. I just bought what I thought looked like a turnip. The label said rave something. I assume rave means turnip.

Image

Step 2: Put all the vegetables and one whole chicken into a giant soup pot.ImageStep 3: Cover with water, add sprigs of thyme and 1 tsp of whole black peppercorns. Bring to a boil. Then reduce the heat and simmer for 1 to 1 and 1/2 hours. Strain to remove the vegetables, shred the chicken (for the soup) and you’re done.

chickensoup3

One thought on “New Years Resolutions and Chicken Soup

Leave a Reply

