On the Shelf: Unbroken

unbrokenI continue on my quest to read 100 books in 2013. Still going slowly but I am employing a few new tactics- namely audible.com. I downloaded a few audio books and have been listening to Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. It is the story of an Olympic runner turned pilot who is shot down over the Pacific during World War II. I decided to write my review before finishing the book because the ending will most definitely affect my feelings about the book. I realized about 75% of the way through the book that I will be devastated if Louis Zamperini does not survive. I’m not giving anything away by saying that Hillebrand turns about what could be so boring (men floating on a raft for weeks on end) into a compelling story that I cannot listen to fast enough. I was a history major in college and read a lot about treatment of POWs in Europe, the atrocities of the Nazi regime and the long lasting effects of the war in Europe. I had not read much about the war in the Pacific. I knew about internment camps in the West- everyone who grows up in California learns about them. But her details about the Japanese treatment of POWs were shocking and created a generation of men who struggled with mental illness, physical ailments and substance abuse. I think you should read it if you have not. I learned a great deal from the book and am still emotionally invested in the outcome. I am going to accelerate my quest. Less Mindy Project. More books. Though it’s going to be very hard. That show is hilarious.

Books read so far: Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, What Alice Forgot, Safe Haven, The Wedding Girl, The Storyteller

Books in progress: Bringing Up Bebe, Expat Living, Unbroken, The 100 Year Old Man, The Spectacular Now

Leave a Reply

