Cuts in Translation

coiffure2One thing I’ve noticed about Geneva is a seemingly strong and interesting local economy. Sure, you have your grocery stores, your pet stores, your clothing stores but every other retail space is either a florist or a coiffure salon (a hair styling salon). I cannot figure out who is keeping these in business. The florists are incredibly expensive and the coiffure salons are so plentiful that I cannot imagine they ever book a full day of appointments. Or perhaps everyone in Geneva goes to the hair dressers every day. That could possibly justify half the number of coiffeurs (hair stylists) in this city.

When we were in Davos, I told Josh I wanted to check out the coffee shop that was rated number one out of all Davos restaurants (and it was just a coffee shop- it had to be good). As we started walking down the street, Josh kept asking “Is that it?” and nodding at different shops. I was confused because there were in fact not that many cafes on the this section of the street in Davos. I said, “Wait, you mean the coiffure place?” Turns out Josh had thought that Geneva was the land of coffee shops. He too was confused when I explained that ALL those coffee shops were in fact hair salons. I’m no economics major but the supply has to overwhelm the demand.

This weekend, I got to practice my coiffeur skills on Forest. See, our sweet boy has a natural mullet. His hair grows faster in the back than the front and if we are not diligent with the hair cuts, he can start looking really rough in no time. So, refusing to pay someone each time the mullet threatens to appear, I decided it was time to learn. I got out scissors and while my mom held Forest and entertained him and my dad took pictures, I started my new career as a children’s coiffeur. Apparently I came to the right town- should be able to start my salon in no time.

coiffure1

Leave a Reply

